The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

David Lynch Foundation to release Record Store Day limited edition boxset

on February 06, 2012, 11:37am

davidlynch David Lynch Foundation to release Record Store Day limited edition boxset

To celebrate this year’s Record Store Day, which falls on Saturday, April 21st, the David Lynch Foundation has put together a special limited edition box set, which compiles performances from 34 artists that span a number of genres, from latin to pop to electronic to hip-hop to even classical.

Originally released digitally on iTunes last year, the new set has been remastered for vinyl and also boasts a previously unreleased bonus track from Sean Lennon’s Ghost of the Saber Tooth Tiger project (“Formica”) in addition to a digital download of an exclusive new release by Julio Iglesias Jr.. Other artists featured include Peter Gabriel, Donovan, Tom Waits, Rodrigo y Gabriela, Iggy Pop, Ben Folds, Alanis Morissette, and much more. See the full tracklist below for a complete roster of artists.

Outside of music, the set will also include a new documentary titled Meditation, Creativity, Peace, which showcases Lynch’s 2007-2008 16-country worldwide tour in which he spoke to government leaders, film students, and the press. Furthermore, the whole thing will be topped off with a 42-page book, featuring an introduction by Lynch and artwork by Romio Shrestha and Davel Hamue.

Keep in mind that this collection is limited to 2,500 units and only available to select stores participating in Record Store Day. Good luck.

Music That Changes the World Tracklist:
Vol 1.0 A. 
01. Peter Gabriel – Curtains
02. Ozomatli – Monster
03. Arrested Development – Let It Go
04. Slightly Stoopid w. Don Carlos – Wiseman, Live @ Black Water 

01. Iggy Pop – Milk Cow Blues
02. Phil Soussan – Shot In The Dark
03. Rodrigo y Gabriela – Satori, live
04. Band From TV – I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel To Be Free

Vol 1.2 A. 
01. Moby – The Poison Tree
02. Ben Lee – Food For The Moon
03. Alanis Morissette – 20/20
04. Heather Nova – Doubled Up 
01. Amanda Palmer – In My Mind
02. Nancy Sinatra – End of the World
03. Tom Waits – Briar and The Rose
04. Au Revoir Simone – Boys Of Summer
05. Special Beat w. Pauline Black – Night Club

Vol 1.3 A. 
01. Maroon 5 – The Air I Breathe
02. Pink Jaffee featuring Jakob Dylan w. Daryl Hannah – Wont You Stay
03. Emin – All I Need Tonight
04. The Waterboys – In The Beginning Was Love
05. Carmen Rizzo w. Grant-Lee Phillips – Bring the Mountain Down 
01. The Charlatans – The Only One I Know (RMX_with Factory Floor)
02. Andy Summers featuring Geeta Novotny – Ave Maria
03. The Ghost of a Saber Tooth Tiger – Formica

Vol. 1.4 A.
01. Dave Stewart – Man To Man
02. Ben Folds – Wild Mountain Thyme
03. Donovan – Listen
04. Mary Hopkin – Gold and Silver
05. Peter & Gordon – True Love Ways 
01. Patricia Kaas Remix by Jourdan Bordes
02. Neon Trees – Animal, djs From Mars Remix
03. Salman Ahmad w. Valerie Geffner – Nachoon Gi.