Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Portishead’s Geoff Barrow readies hip-hop album: Quakers

on February 07, 2012, 5:03pm

quakers Portisheads Geoff Barrow readies hip hop album: Quakers

Anyone who finishes Curtis Hanson’s Oscar-winning 2002 film 8 Mile thinks the same thing: Man, I want to record a hip-hop album. Apparently Geoff Barrow owns that DVD. On April 9th, the Portishead multi-instrumentalist will enter the hip-hop genre with his Quakers project, issuing a self-titled, two-disc effort through Stones Throw Records, as Exclaim points out. No, we’re not making this up.

Under the moniker Fuzzface, Barrow has assembled a rag-tag crew that sports Portishead engineer Stuart Matthews, who will go by 7-Stu-7, and Aussie producer Katalyst (clearly, he already has a name). Outside of the trio, the 41-track effort will feature 35 contributors, which include Guilty Simpson, Aloe Blacc, Dead Prez, Phat Kat, Princo Po, and more. Access Hip Hop also reports that the second disc will feature instrumental versions of the record, which brings the album’s tracklist to an awe-inspiring 82 count. It should be noted that Barrow lifted some of his score for Banksy’s 2010 film, Exit Through the Gift Shop, for this project, too.

So, it’s not a fourth LP by Portishead, but you can’t say you weren’t surprised. Check out the tracklist below, and then stand in front of a mirror for a second screaming, “This is not reality! This is not reality! This is not reality!”

Quakers Tracklist:
01. Intro
02. Big Cat (feat. Synato Watts)
03. Fitta Happier (feat. Guilty Simpson/MED)
04. Smoke (feat. Jonwayne)
05. The Lo
06. Russia With Love (feat. Coin Locker Kid)
07. What Chew Want (feat. Tone Tank)
08. Flapjacksmm
09. Jobbles (feat. Quite Nyce)
10. Sidewinder (feat. Buff 1)
11. Mummy (feat. Diverse)
12. Belly of the Beast (feat. Emilio Rojas)
13. Up the Rovers
14. The Turk: King Magnetic
15. There It Is (feat. Raydar Ellis/Quite Nyce)
16. RIP
17. I Like To Dance (feat. Krondon / Steele (Smif-N-Wessun)
18. Dark City Lights (feat. Frank Nitt)
19. The Beginning (feat. Coin Locker Kid)
20. Kreem
21. War Drums (feat. Phat Kat/Guilty Simpson)
22. R.A.I.D. (feat. Lyric Jones)
23. Fresh
24. Something Beautiful
25. Chicken Livers (feat. FC the Truth)
26. Rock My Soul (feat. Prince Po)
27. Lost and Found (feat. Estee Nack)
28. My Mantra (feat. Dave Dub)
29. Hunnypots of Beeswax
30. TV Dreaming (feat. Booty Brown)
31. Don’t Make It Worthless
32. Soul Power (feat. Dead Prez)
33. Glide
34. Get Live (feat. Coin Locker Kid)
35. Sign Language (feat. Aloe Blacc)
36. Earth Quaking (feat. Akil)
37. You’re Gonna Be Sorry
38. Outlaw (feat. Deed)
39. The Tax Man (feat. Poems (Sharlock Poems)
40. Chucky Balboa (feat. Silverust)
41. Oh Goodness (feat. Finale)

1 comment