The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music and Film Headlines

The Dandy Warhols detail new album: This Machine

on February 16, 2012, 4:40pm

dandywarhols The Dandy Warhols detail new album: This Machine

As previously reported, Portland’s The Dandy Warhols will release their ninth studio LP, titled This Machine, in April. Now, the band has unleashed all sorts of details surrounding the LP, including a release date, album artwork (see above), and a tracklist, which you can peep below.

Due out April 24th via The End Records, This Machine was recorded at the band’s own studio The Odditorium with their longtime engineer Jeremy Sherrer and later mixed by Tchad Blake, who’s worked with Pearl Jam and The Black Keys. Sporting 11 tracks, Dandy principal songwriter Courtney Taylor-Taylor calls the album the band’s “grungiest” effort to date, adding that it’s “stripped down, woody and extremely guitar centric.”

To add more flavor, the band tapped English science-fiction writer Richard Morgan to pen the Dandy’s official biography for the album. It’s broken down into four short stories, all of which you can read here. Also, the album’s artwork was completed by local Portland artist Hickory Mertsching.

For an advanced listen of the LP, check out two of its tracks below the tracklist. Both “Rest Your Head” and a version of “SETI vs Wow! Signal” were debuted during the band’s Australian tour in 2011.

This Machine hits stores April 24th (via The End).

This Machine Tracklist:
01. Sad Vacation
02. The Autumn Carnival
03. Enjoy Yourself
04. Alternative Power To The People
05. Well They’re Gone
06. Rest Your Head
07. 16 Tons
08. I Am Free
09. SETI vs Wow! Signal
10. Don’t Shoot She Cried
11. Slide

“Rest Your Head”:

“SETI vs Wow! Signal”:

1 comment