The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music and Film Headlines

Wilco and Billy Bragg detail Mermaid Avenue: The Complete Sessions

on February 29, 2012, 2:53pm

bragg wilco mermaid avenue1 Wilco and Billy Bragg detail Mermaid Avenue: The Complete Sessions

As previously reported, Wilco and Billy Bragg plan to commemorate the 100th birthday of Woody Guthrie with the release of a four-disc box set compiling their Mermaid Avenue collaborations, including the never before released Volume III sessions. Now, The AV Club brings us the compilation’s artwork, as well as the 17-song tracklist for Volume III.

Available April 21st from Nonesuch, Mermaid Avenue: The Complete Sessions also packs Kim Hopkins’ 1999 film, Man in the Sand, which documents the collaborations between Bragg and Wilco, a 48-page booklet with new liner notes by Nora Guthrie, full lyrics, archival photographs, and facsimiles of lyric sheets and sketches by Woody Guthrie. In addition, if you pre-order via Nonesuch’s webstore, you’ll receive an exclusive print of Guthrie’s lyric sheet for “Hoodoo Voodoo”.

The A.V. Club also reports that the Volume III will available digitally, separate from the box set.

Mermaid Avenue: Volume III Tracklist:
01. Bugeye Jim
02. When The Roses Bloom Again
03. Gotta Work
04. My Thirty Thousand
05. Ought To Be Satisfied Now
06. Listening To The Wind That Blows
07. Go Down To The Water
08. Chain Of Broken Hearts
09. Jailcell Blues
10. Don’t You Marry
11. Give Me A Nail
12. The Jolly Banker
13. Union Prayer
14. Be Kind To The Boy On The Road
15. Ain’ta Gonna Grieve
16. Tea Bag Blues
17. I’m Out To Get

1 comment