The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music and Film Headlines

Damon Albarn to release Dr. Dee album

on March 07, 2012, 5:38pm

damonalbarn Damon Albarn to release Dr. Dee album

As if he doesn’t have enough on his plate (e.g. Gorillaz singles, Blur reunion, collaborations with Flea and Tony Allen), Damon Albarn continues his musical tourney in May with Dr. Dee, an accompanying studio album to his opera of the same name, which is being reproduced for the stage this summer. Over 18 tracks, the songs pair Albarn’s vocals over “early English choral and instrumentation alongside modern, West African and Renaissance sounds,” according to a press release.

Inspired by the life of mathematician, polymath, and advisor to Elizabeth I John Dee, Dr. Dee has been described as “strange pastoral folk”, and was recorded late last year in both Albarn’s West London studio and with the BBC Philharmonic Orchestra in Salford. Valgier Sigursson mixed the whole thing.

To support the release, Albarn will appear at OneFest on April 14th to perform songs alongside singers and musicians featured on the LP, including Madou Diabate. The stage performance itself, which debuted to critical acclaim at Manchester International Festival last year, will return this summer at the English National Opera, as part of the Cultural Olympiad. Dates for these performances fall on June 25th, 26th, 28th, and 29th, and in July on the 4th, 6th, and 7th.

Consult the tracklist below, in addition to a short trailer for the release, featuring the track “The Marvelous Dream”, shortly after.

Dr. Dee hits stores and digital retailers May 8th via Virgin Records.

Dr. Dee Tracklist:
01. The Golden Dawn
02. Apple Carts
03. Oh Spirit Animate Us
04. The Moon Exalted
05. A Man of England
06. Saturn
07. Coronation
08. The Marvelous Dream
09. A Prayer
10. Edward Kelley
11. Preparation
12. 9 point Star
13. Temptation Comes In The Afternoon
14. Watching the Fire That Waltzed Away
15. Moon (Interlude)
16. Cathedrals
17. Tree Of Life
18. The Dancing King

“The Marvelous Dream”:

No comments