Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Dive announces debut album: Oshin

on April 05, 2012, 3:52pm

divefinal Dive announces debut album: Oshin

The origin of Brooklyn-based reverb rock outfit Dive is a veritable Cinderella story of the indie rock community. Zachary Cole Smith, who serves as guitarist in Beach Fossils, began writing last June and quickly found himself with 60 songs (writing is in his blood; his father is the man behind Hanes’ infamous cotton jingle). By late summer, he formed a backing band which includes drummer Colby Hewitt (formerly of Smith Westerns), played a few gigs, and signed to Captured Tracks. They then released three singles, “Human”,“Sometime”, and “Geist”, which garnered them enough attention to tour with Smith’s other band and Frankie Rose.

Now, the world sees if the glass slipper was truly deserving when the band releases its debut LP, Oshin, on June 26th. Speaking to Pitchfork recently, Smith said the 13-track album is more about the dynamic of the whole band, a move plotted with the intention of overcoming the “lifelessness” of the preceding three singles. Several of the album’s songs focus on Smiths’ father, who despite his musical chops, “wasn’t much of an influence musically” after leaving the family when Smith was six (his mother’s first boyfriend post-divorce taught him to play guitar).

Reflecting the decidedly personal focus of the record, lead single “How Long Have You Known?” plumbs an ocean of deep feelings. Perhaps one of the band’s more upbeat numbers, its New Wave-y guitar and crashing drums are the perfect combo to dance awkwardly with your first crush to. Though subtle and far from overpowering, the vocals, like blasts of bubbly choral singing from the seafloor, utilize the title as a cutting, probing question that rattles the listener and makes one beg for the eventual answer. Find the song below, followed by the album tracklist.

Dive – “How Long Have You Known?”

Oshin Tracklist:
01. (Druun)
02. Past Lives
03. Human
04. Air Conditioning
05. How Long Have You Known?
06. Wait
07. Earthboy
08. (Druun pt. ii)
09. Follow
10. Sometime
11. Oshin (Subsume)
12. Doused
13. Home

No comments