Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Patti Smith announces new album: Banga

on April 01, 2012, 12:29pm

Legendary singer-songwriter Patti Smith will return on June 5th with her first album in eight years. Entitled Banga, the 12-track effort was recorded at Electric Lady Studios in New York City and produced by Smith and her band of Tony Shanahan, Jay Dee Daugherty, and long-time collaborator Lenny Kaye. In addition, Television frontman Tom Verlaine, Jack Petruzzelli, Smith’s son Jackson and daughter Jesse Paris appear as featured guests.

According to a press release, Banga was “inspired by Smith’s unique dreams and observations” and its “poetic lyrics are a reflection of our complex world – a world that is rife with chaos and beauty.”

Appropriately, the album’s lead single, “April Fool”, is now available through digital retailers. Other tracks include a ballad in memory of Amy Winehouse (“This Is The Girl”), a rock song for the people of Japan in the wake of last year’s earthquake (“Fuji-san”), and a birthday song written for her friend Johnny Depp (“Nine”).

Banga Tracklist:
01. Amerigo
02. Fuji-san
03. April Fool
04. This is the Girl
05. Banga
06. Maria
07. Tarkovsky (The Second Stop is Jupiter)
08. Mosaic
09. Nine
10. Seneca
11. Constantine’s Dream
12. After the Gold Rush

No comments