The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music and Film Headlines

Rush announces new album: Clockwork Angels

on April 11, 2012, 10:03am

rush clockwork angels e1334152796555 Rush announces new album: Clockwork Angels

Rush will return on June 12th with their first album in five years, and 20th to date. Entitled Clockwork Angels, the 12-track effort was recorded between April 2010 and the fall of 2011 with producer Nick Raskulinecz (Foo Fighters, Deftones). The album’s lead single, “Headlong Flight”, will be released on April 19th.

According to a press release, the album “chronicles a young man’s quest across a lavish and colorful world of steampunk and alchemy as he attempts to follow his dreams. The story features lost cities, pirates, anarchists, an exotic carnival, and a rigid Watchmaker who imposes precision on every aspect of daily life.” A novelization of the album is being written by science fiction writer Kevin J. Anderson in collaboration with Rush drummer and lyricist Neil Peart.

In support  of the release, Rush will embark on a yet-to-be-announced full scale North American tour.

As previously reported, Rush recently signed with Roadrunner records, and Clockwork Angels will mark the first studio release of the partnership.

Clockwork Angels Tracklist:
01. Caravan
02. BU2B
03. Clockwork Angels
04. The Anarchist
05. Carnies
06. Halo Effect
07. Seven Cities Of Gold
08. The Wreckers
09. Headlong Flight
10. BU2B2
11. Wish Them Well
12. The Garden