The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music and Film Headlines

múm announces rarities collection: Early Birds

on May 07, 2012, 1:22pm

 múm announces rarities collection: Early Birds

Icelandic pop experimentalists múm will release a collection of rarities on July 17th via Morr Music. Early Birds collects demos and rare/forgotten vinyl releases from the band’s early years between 1998 and 2000. The 15-tracks serve as a glimpse at what they were coming up before their Yesterday Was Dramatic – Today is OK debut.

Most of the songs are instrumental, recorded during a nomadic period in founding members Gunnar Örn Tynes and Ã–rvar Þóreyjarson’s lives that found them in basement studios across Europe from Iceland to France. Though delicate melodies bind the songs together, there are two distinctive moods on the album. “The first half of the compilation leans on the playful side, where experimentation is key,” states a press release. “The second half incorporates those quieter tracks, with only a few analog layers, harmonious and blissful, revolving around each other for minutes.”

Both vinyl and CD editions will contain a booklet detailing each track. See the complete tracklist below, and to save you a bit of time, here’s a link to Google Translate.

Early Birds Tracklist:
01. Bak þitt er sem rennibraut
02. Póst póstmaður
03. Gingúrt
04. Glerbrot (Previously lost)
05. Hvernig á að særa vini sína (Previously unreleased)
06. Bak þitt er sem rennibraut (Bústadavegurer fáviti megamix eftir Músíkvat)
07. Insert Coin (Bjarne Riis arcade game mjiks eftir múm)
08. Loksins erum við engin (Natturuoperan song)
09. Náttúrúbúrú
10. 0,000Orð
11. lalalala blái hnötturinn
12. múm spilar la la la
13. Hufeland
14. Volkspark Friedrichshain (Previously forgotten)
15. Enginn vildi hlusta á fiðlunginn, því strengir hans vóru slitnir (getiði ekki verið góð við mömmu okkar)

No comments