Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

New Music: Joanna Newsom – “The Diver’s Wife”

on June 27, 2012, 4:25pm

joanna newsom philip glass days and nights festival New Music: Joanna Newsom   The Divers Wife

On Monday night, music virtuosos Joanna Newsom and Philip Glass performed together at San Francisco’s Warfield Theater as part of Glass’ Days and Nights Festival, which served as a benefit for Big Sur’s Henry Miller Memorial Library. Joined by violinist Tim Fain, the pair tackled selections from both of their discographies, though Newsom also used the opportunity to debut a new song called “The Diver’s Wife”. You can now hear a recording of said song at New Wave Women (via Pitchfork).

The concert’s setlist (via All Shook Down):

1. “France” (Glass, Newsom, Fain; from Glass’ The Screens)
2. “Sadie” (Newsom and Fine; from Newsom’s The Milk-Eyed Mender)
3. “Metamorphosis Two” (written and performed by Glass)
4. “The Orchard” (Glass, Newsom, Fain; from Glass’ The Screens)
5. Partita for Solo Violin, Movement 1 (Fain; written by Glass for the soloist)
6. “Sawdust and Diamonds,” (written and performed by Newsom)
7. “The French Lieutenant Dreams” (Newsom and Fain; from Glass’ The Screens)
8. “Wichita Vortex Sutra” (words and recorded voice by Allen Ginsberg, music by Glass)
9. “Pendulum for Violin and Piano” (Glass and Fain; written by Glass)
10. “The Diver’s Wife,” a new, unreleased Joanna Newsom song, in its live debut
1. “Closing,” (from Glass’ Glassworks)
2. Violin solo from Einstein on the Beach (Fain, written by Glass)
3. “On a Good Day” (written and performed by Joanna Newsom)

No comments