The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music and Film Headlines

The Helio Sequence announces new album: Negotiations

on June 15, 2012, 2:36pm

helio The Helio Sequence announces new album: Negotiations

Portland alt-rock duo The Helio Sequence released their last LP, Keep Your Eyes Ahead, in early 2008. While on tour in support of the record in 2009, the pair received a call that their practice space/studio had flooded with over a foot of water. While most of their best equipment was packed safe in the van, it meant they’d have to find a new base of operations for subsequent projects, eventually settling into a 1500-square-foot break room-cafeteria in an abandoned warehouse.

Responding to the change in locales, their latest album, Negotiations, represents a shift in the band’s approach to recording. Described as “the loosest, and most free-form the duo has ever done”, the 11-track effort features ponderings on “solitude, memory, hope, misgivings, loss, atonement, and inner dialogues.” As an early introduction, the band has released a trailer featuring an unidentified album track and footage of the band in-studio. Watch it below.

Negotiations hits stores on September 11th via Sub Pop. The band will announce a North American tour shortly; for now, they’re slated to play Bumbershoot and MusicFest NW in September.

Negotiations Tracklist:
01. One More Time
02. October
03. Downward Spiral
04. The Measure
05. Hall of Mirrors
06. Harvester of Souls
07. Open Letter
08. When the Shadow Falls
09. Silence on Silence
10. December
11. Negotiations

No comments