Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

DJ Shadow announces two archival compilations

on July 26, 2012, 4:01pm

dj shadow live DJ Shadow announces two archival compilations

This fall, DJ Shadow will release two sizable archival compilations that span the length of his 20-plus-year career. On August 15th, Shadow will offer his earliest, unreleased Akai MPC productions as Total Breakdown: Hidden Transmissions From The MPC Era, 1992-1996. The 24-track effort will be available on CD, double-vinyl, and download (complete with exclusive content) and features several previously-aborted tunes, including instrumental tracks from a shelved 1994 EP planned with The Gift Of Gab, parts of which would eventually become the hit “Six Days.”

In a press release, Shadow explained the project’s contextual importance, saying, “I like to follow up new material (like his latest, 2011’s The Less You Know, The Better) with a tastefully-done archival project. As long as the old stuff is given a context and doesn’t overshadow the new, I think it’s a healthy exercise for me, and one that re-calibrates me for whatever new musical path lies ahead. I think it’s important to revisit where you’ve been occasionally so that you can determine where to go.”

Below, you can stream 30-second previews of several Total Breakdown pieces, or head to Shadow’s website to download two tracks, “Affectations” (from 1996) and “Dreams Of A Piece” (from 1992).

Then, on September 3rd, Shadow will release Reconstructed: The Best Of DJ Shadow, a best-of collection from his five solo LPs and his collaborative record with UNKLE’s James Lavelle, Psyence Fiction. The eight-disc set will be limited to 500 copies worldwide and will include a 12-inch vinyl record, an essay by acclaimed music writer Dave Tompkins, and photos from throughout Shadow’s career. Alongside some of Shadow’s biggest singles, the collection will feature two new cuts, “Listen” and “Won’t You Be”. The latter is streaming now at BBC 6’s website (skip to the two-hour, 40-minute mark to stream it and a short interview with Shadow).

Check out the the tracklists for both compilations below.

Total Breakdown: Hidden Transmissions From The MPC Era, 1992-1996 Tracklist:
01. Intropy (Original Version)
2. Vee In Detroit
3. Dreams Of A Piece
4. The Not-So-Quiet Storm
5. Fast Rap Fanfare
6. Intensely Hitting
7. Mystical With Solo
8. Alright
9. Don’t Try It
10. From The Old School
11. Freddi’s Popcorn
12. Quickstep
13. Movin’ On (Gab Demo 1)
14. Falling Up
15. Mellow But Chunky
16. Total Breakdown (Gab Demo 2)
17. Heavy Mood
18. Affectations
19. Perilous Journey (Gab Demo 3)
20. Aye
21. Brittle But Magic
22. Atmospheric Disturbances
23. Swimming Upstream (Gab Demo 4)
24. Up For Grabs (Outro)
25. Give Up The Drums *
26. Slow Poke *
27. Vortex *

* = DJShadow.com bonus tracks

Reconstructed: The Best Of DJ Shadow Tracklist:
01. Midnight In A Perfect World
02. High Noon
03. I’ve Been Trying
04. This Time (Im Gonna Try It My Way)
05. You Cant Go Home Again
06. Scale It Back (feat. Little Dragon)
07. Listen (Featuring Terry Reid)
08. Stem
09. Six Days
10. Won’t You Be
11. Organ Donor
12. Lonely Soul (feat. Richard Ashcroft)
13. Blood On The Motorway
14. You Made It (feat. Chris James)
15. Redeemed
16. Dark Days (Main Theme)

No comments