New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Franz Nicolay announces new album: Do The Struggle

on August 17, 2012, 1:45pm

nicolay dothestruggle cover hires e1345094628321 Franz Nicolay announces new album: Do The Struggle

Multi-instrumentalist and former Hold Steady member Franz Nicolay will self-release his third solo LP, Do The Struggle, on October 9th. For his latest effort, Nicolay worked alongside producer Oktopus (of New Jersey’s dälek) to break outside the traditional confines of a singer-songwriter and “create a dark, explosive, and cinematic opus of personal and political anger.”

“We went in with the idea of taking classic Americana instrumentation/songwriting and treating it with a more club/techno/bass sonic vibe,” Oktopus explains in a press release. “Banjos were treated like arpeggiated synth lines, accordions like saw-tooth pads, tuba like 808 crunk bass, and so on. To me this record was a perfect way to start looking at the relationship between traditional acoustic music and more futuristic electronic music.”

Our first listen off the LP is the melancholic track, “Did Your Broken Heart Make You Who You Are?”. Over distant guitars and cinematic strings, Nicolay exudes a whimsical demeanor, one that’s vaguely self-aware and border on comparisons to Morrissey. Below you can grab the track for free, peep the album’s tracklist, and stream its accompanying video directed by Brad Kemp.

Franz Nicolay – “Did Your Broken Heart Make You Who You Are?”

Do The Struggle Tracklist:
01. Hearts of Boston
02. Do The Struggle
03. Did Your Broken Heart Make You Who You Are?
04. Frankie Stubbs’ Tears
05. You Don’t Know I’m Here
06. Take No Prisoners (feat. Emily Brodsky)
07. The Migration of Cuckoo
08. Live Free
09. Joy

“Did Your Broken Heart Make You Who You Are?”:

No comments