The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music and Film Headlines

The Beach Boys to release greatest hits compilations, remastered albums

on August 15, 2012, 3:05pm

 The Beach Boys to release greatest hits compilations, remastered albums

A concert DVD isn’t the only thing The Beach Boys plan on releasing this fall. The California legends will continue to  celebrate their 50th anniversary with a series of greatest hits compilations and remastered reissues.

First up is Greatest Hits: 50 Big Ones, a deluxe, career-spanning box set and/or digital collection that compiles 50 of the band’s biggest hits. The physical release features a 2CD lift-top box package, sporting seven postcards and an expanded booklet with liner notes by Rolling Stone‘s David Wild. A slimmer 20-track release, aptly titled Greatest Hits, will also accompany the release. Both are set for an October 9th release via Capitol/EMI. Consult both tracklists below for each respective release.

Next is a series of reissues of 12 Beach Boys studio albums: Surfin’ U.S.A.Surfer GirlLittle Deuce CoupeShut Down, Volume 2All Summer Long; TheBeach Boys Today!Summer Days (And Summer Nights!!)Beach Boys Party!Pet SoundsSmiley SmileSunflower (stereo mix only); and Surf’s Up (stereo mix only). All studio albums were digitally remastered by Mark Linnett and will be released on CD and digitally. This will mark the stereo debut of Smiley Smile, Beach Boys Party!, Beach Boys Today!, and Summer Days (And Summer Nights!!). All 12 reissues hit stores on September 24th.

Also, if that weren’t enough, Los Angeles’ The GRAMMY Museum will host a special Beach Boys 50th Anniversary exhibit on September 18th. To kick off the exhibit, the band will appear for what’s being billed as ‘An Evening with The Beach Boys’, which will feature a Q&A and acoustic performance by Brian Wilson, Mike Love, Al Jardine, Bruce Johnston, and David Marks. This will be open to the public.

The Beach Boys Greatest Hits: 50 Big Ones Tracklist:
Disc 1:
01. California Girls
02. Do It Again
03. Surfin’ Safari
04. Catch a Wave
05. Little Honda
06. Surfin’ U.S.A.
07. Surfer Girl
08. Don’t Worry Baby
09. Little Deuce Coupe
10. Shut Down
11. I Get Around
12. The Warmth of the Sun
13. Please Let Me Wonder
14. Wendy
15. Getcha Back
16. The Little Girl I Once Knew
17. When I Grow Up (To Be a Man)
18. It’s OK
19. Dance, Dance, Dance
20. Do You Wanna Dance
21. Rock And Roll Music
22. Barbara Ann
23. All Summer Long
24. Help Me, Rhonda
25. Fun, Fun, Fun

Disc 2:
01. Kokomo
02. You’re So Good To Me
03. Wild Honey
04. Darlin’
05. In My Room
06. All This Is That
07. This Whole World
08. Add Some Music To Your Day
09. Cotton Fields
10. I Just Wasn’t Made For These Times
11. Sail on, Sailor
12. Surf’s Up
13. Friends
14. Heroes and Villains
15. I Can Hear Music
16. Good Timin’
17. California Saga (On My Way to Sunny Californ-I-A)
18. Isn’t It Time (single version)
19. Kiss Me, Baby
20. That’s Why God Made The Radio
21. Forever
22. God Only Knows
23. Sloop John B
24. Wouldn’t It Be Nice
25. Good Vibrations

The Beach Boys: Greatest Hits Tracklist:
01. That’s Why God Made The Radio
02. California Girls
03. Sloop John B
04. Wouldn’t It Be Nice
05. Surfer Girl
06. Do It Again
07. Surfin’ Safari
08. Surfin’ U.S.A.
09. Don’t Worry Baby
10. Little Deuce Coupe
11. I Get Around
12. Fun, Fun, Fun
13. Be True to Your School
14. Dance, Dance, Dance
15. All Summer Long
16. Help Me, Rhonda
17. Rock And Roll Music
18. God Only Knows
19. Good Vibrations
20. Kokomo