New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

New Music: Pig Destroyer – “The Diplomat”

on September 26, 2012, 5:00pm

pig destoryer book burner New Music: Pig Destroyer   The Diplomat

“The Diplomat” is the second song to surface from Virginia grindcore outfit Pig Destroyer’s forthcoming LP, Book Burner. The track’s riff (originally written for band leader Scott Hull’s other project Agoraphobic Nosebleed some six years ago) is the driving force, an unrelenting and punishing storm that slowly devolves into a cascade of jagged noise without losing its ability to devastate. Stream it now at Pitchfork.

“(The song’s) about the origins of human conflict and how if you look back through history, we’ve never really gotten along,” vocalist JR Hayes said of the number. “You’re always wrapped up in the time that you’re living in, and right now there’s war and suffering and despair and economies collapsing, but if you look back in history, that’s the way its always been. I’m not saying we should just accept that, but I it makes me wonder if there’s anything special about the time we’re living in now.”

Book Burner hits stores on October 22nd via Relapse. In case you missed it, stream lead single “Burning Palm” here.

Book Burner Tracklist:
Disc 1: Book Burner
01. Sis
02. The American’s Head
03. The Underground Man
04. Eve
05. The Diplomat
06. All Seeing Eye
07. Valley of the Geysers
08. Book Burner
09. Machiavellian
10. Baltimore Strangler
11. White Lady
12. The Bug
13. Iron Drunk
14. Burning Palm
15. Dirty Knife
16. Totaled
17. Kamikaze Heart
18. King of Clubs
19. Permanent Funeral

Disc 2: “Blind, Deaf, and Bleeding” (Deluxe Editions Only)
01. Depression (Black Flag)
02. Wolfs Blood (Misfits)
03. Lights Out (Angry Samoans)
04. Can’t Tell No One (Negative Approach)
05. Deny Everything (Circle Jerks)
06. Betray (Minor Threat)
07. Who Are You? (Void)

No comments