New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Thom Yorke’s Atoms For Peace release new single, album to follow in 2013

on September 06, 2012, 6:34pm

atoms for peace hot Thom Yorkes Atoms For Peace release new single, album to follow in 2013

Atoms For Peace — the super side-project featuring Radiohead’s Thom Yorke and Nigel Godrich, Red Hot Chili Peppers bassist Flea, and drummer Joey Waronker — has released a new single called “Default”. The song is now available on iTunes, and will be released on 12″ vinyl in October. You can also stream it below.

Update: In a note posted on Radiohead’s website, Yorke said that Atoms For Peace will release an album next year.

You may have heard that I have a new project called Atoms for Peace.

The name comes from some shows of The Eraser that happened a couple of years ago with Mauro, Joey, Nigel and Flea.

We got a big buzz from them and discovered loads of energy from transforming the music from electronic to live, and so afterwards, we carried on for a few days in the studio and decided to make it a loose, on-going thing.
Immersed in the area between the two…electronic and live.

“Default” marks the group’s second release in as many months. Last month, Modeselektor’s label Monkeytown released a split single featuring a remix of Atoms For Peace’s own “Other Side” and a remix of Other Lives’ “Tamer Animals”.

Earlier this year, Yorke said he planned to release Atoms For Peace’s full-length album before the end of the year.

No comments