New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Christopher Owens (formerly of Girls) announces debut solo album

on October 25, 2012, 3:44pm

christopher owens lysandre Christopher Owens (formerly of Girls) announces debut solo album

In July, Christopher Owens left San Francisco indie outfit Girls citing a need to “progress.” On January 15th, we’ll hear what he meant by that when he releases his debut solo album, Lysandre, via Fat Possum Records.

Described by Owens as “a coming of age story, a road trip story, a love story,” the 11-track effort was was written, recorded, and sequenced as a complete narrative, inspired by the events of Girls’ first ever tour in the summer of 2008. He recorded the album at Hobby Shop Studios in Los Angeles, alongside Girls producer Doug Boehm and musicians Evan Weiss (guitar), Matthew Kallman (keyboard), Vince Meghrouni (saxophone and flute), David Sutton (bass), Seth Kasper (drums), Hannah Hunt (backing vocals), and Cally Robertson (backing vocals).

Below, you can stream the album’s first two tracks, “Lysandre’s Theme” and “Here We Go”.

Lysandre Tracklist:
01. Lysandre’s Theme
02. Here We Go
03. New York City
04. A Broken Heart
05. Here We Go Again
06. Riviera Rock
07. Love Is In The Ear Of The Listener
08. Lysandre
09. Everywhere You Knew
10. Closing Theme
11. Part Of Me (Lysandre’s Epilogue)

No comments