New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

New Music: The Ruby Suns – “Kingfisher Call Me”

on October 29, 2012, 2:45pm

rubysunschristopher New Music: The Ruby Suns   Kingfisher Call Me

New Zealand indie-pop act The Ruby Suns will release its fourth album, Christopher, on January 29th, 2013 via Sub Pop. The 10-track LP was written, performed, engineered, and produced by band leader Ryan McPhun, with mixing by Chris Coady (Beach House, Grizzly Bear). After splitting with his girlfriend, McPhun moved to Oslo, Norway in the winter of 2010. According to a press release, the notorious wayfarer at last found a home, inspired in part by the “icy architecture and sky-high fjords” along with the region’s high-profile gloss-pop scene.

Like the transformation from the bubbly tunes of 2006’s self-titled and 2008’s Sea Lions to the darker undertones of 2010’s Fight Softly, the group have changed musical directions once more, as evidenced by the lead single “Kingfisher Call Me”. Here, the band’s life-affirming aesthetic and shimmery melodies are coupled with ambiguous lyrics (“Dry your eyes/Is what to do/Don’t listen to anyone except for you”) and more electronic elements, resulting in a sound that’s far removed from McPhun’s beach bum days without forgetting that sense of wide-eyed optimism.

Download your mp3 copy below in exchange for an email address.

Christopher Tracklist:
01. Desert of Pop
02. In Real Life
03. Dramatikk
04. Kingfisher Call Me
05. Rush
06. Jump In
07. Boy
08. Starlight
09. Futon Fortress
10. Heart Attack

No comments