The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music and Film Headlines

Paul McCartney, The Shins, Andrew Bird contribute to Starbucks Christmas album

on October 11, 2012, 3:00pm

starbucks christmas e1349981066485 Paul McCartney, The Shins, Andrew Bird contribute to Starbucks Christmas album

Following Sufjan and Will Oldham’s lead, Starbucks is offering its own collection of music for the holiday season. On October 30th, the coffee company’s label Hear Music and Concord will release Holidays Rule, a 17-track compilation feature a bunch of great artists covering a bunch of great holiday tunes. You’ve got “Chestnuts Roasting on an Open Fire” by Paul McCartney, ”Wonderful Christmastime” by The Shins, “Auld Lang Syne” by Andrew Bird, and “It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like Christmas” by Fruit Bats. There’s also a duet of “Baby, It’s Cold Outside” by Rufus Wainwright and Sharon Van Etten, which you can stream below (via Pitchfork).

Holidays Rule Tracklist:
01. fun. – “Sleigh Ride”
02. The Shins – “Wonderful Christmastime”
03. Rufus Wainwright with Sharon Van Etten – “Baby, It’s Cold Outside”
04. Paul McCartney -“The Christmas Song (Chestnuts Roasting on an Open Fire)”
05. Black Prairie – “(Everybody’s Waitin’ for) The Man With the Bag” [ft. Sallie Ford]
06. The Civil Wars – “I Heard the Bells on Christmas Day”
07. Calexico – “Green Grows the Holly”
08. AgesandAges – “We Need a Little Christmas”
09. Holly Golightly – “That’s What I Want For Christmas”
10. Irma Thomas with the Preservation Hall Jazz Band – “May Everyday Be Christmas”
11. Heartless Bastards -“Blue Christmas”
12. Eleanor Friedberger – “Santa Bring My Baby Back to Me”
13. Fruit Bats – “It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like Christmas”
14. Y La Bamb -  “Señor Santa”
15. The Punch Brothers – “O Come, O Come, Emmanuel”
16. The Head & the Heart – “What Are You Doing New Year’s Eve”
17. Andrew Bird – “Auld Lang Syne”

No comments