New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Download a remastered recording of Joy Division’s 1980 University of London gig

on November 20, 2012, 4:00pm

joy division shot e1353427600845 Download a remastered recording of Joy Divisions 1980 University of London gig

A rare Joy Division recording has found new life thanks to mastering engineer Drew Crumbaugh. As SPIN points out, the man behind such reissues as The Smiths’ Rough Trade singles or Joy Division/New Order’s Factory releases has learned new tricks of the game and has returned to his pile of beautiful junk to give things a better, more insightful shine.

His first offering is a recording of Joy Division’s performance at the University of London, which took place on February 8th, 1980. The 12-song set focused heavily on 1980’s Closer, but the band’s latter singles — “Love Will Tear Us Apart” and “Digital” — also made appropriate appearances.

“They are spectacular,” Crumbaugh explains of his recent work. “Even the most hearing-challenged of listeners can tell the difference, and not just by minutiae. Cymbals ring, drums go THWACK and not ‘thwop,’ guitars slice through the murk.”

Download the FLAC files here, and consult the full performance’s tracklist below. In related news, keep on the look out for a recent interview with former members Bernard Sumner and Stephen Morris.

Live at University of London Union Tracklist:
01. Dead Souls
02. Glass
03. A Means To An End
04. Twenty Four Hours
05. Passover
06. Insight
07. Colony
08. These Days
09. Love Will Tear Us Apart
10. Isolation
11. Encore Break
12. The Eternal
13. Digital

No comments