New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

My Morning Jacket’s Jim James announces debut solo album

on November 12, 2012, 5:05pm

 My Morning Jackets Jim James announces debut solo album

My Morning Jacket frontman Jim James has gone solo before, having toured and released an EP under the name Yim Yames. But on February 5th, ATO Records will release the first full-length solo album from Jim James proper.

According to Pitchfork, Regions of Light and Sound of God was inspired primarily by Lynd Ward’s 1929 graphic novel God’s Man, which “chronicles an artist’s struggles with temptation and corruption, along with finding true love.” As James explained in a press release, “Some of the things happening in the book were happening to me in real life, in a very strange and painful, then a very beautiful ways.”

He added: “I wanted the album to sound like it came from a different place in time. Perhaps sounding as if it were the past of the future, if that makes any sense—like a hazy dream that a fully-realized android or humanoid capable of thought might have when it reminisces about the good old days of just being a simple robot.”

As an early preview, you can download the album’s lead single, “Know Til Now” below.

Regions of Light and Sound of God Tracklist:
01. State of the Art (A.E.I.O.U)
02. Know Til Now
03. Dear One
04. A New Life
05. Exploding
06. Of the Mother Again
07. Actress
08. All Is Forgiven
09. God’s Love to Deliver

No comments