Album Streams
Listen to Full Streams of the Newest Albums
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Stream: Sufjan Stevens – Silver & Gold: Songs for Christmas, Vols. 6-10

on November 13, 2012, 5:30pm

sufjan stevens silver gold e1349189351931 Stream: Sufjan Stevens   Silver & Gold: Songs for Christmas, Vols. 6 10

Santa Sufjan Stevens is opening up his magic bag of aural goodies with a stream of his ginormous Xmas box set. Silver & Gold: Songs for Christmas, Vols. 6-10 comprises 58 tracks recorded between 2006 and 2010 with frequent collaborators Aaron and Bryce Dessner (The National), Richard Reed Parry (Arcade Fire), Cat Martino, and more. The tracklist includes holiday classics like “Silent Night”, “Auld Lang Syne”, “Joy To The World”, and “Jingle Bells”, alongside 18 original yuletide compositions and even a Prince cover.

That’s not his only gift though; Steven has also unleashed a video for his version of “I’ll Be Home For Christmas”. He keeps the holidays weird with help from the Craig Brothers, who fantastically meld Bob Clark’s A Christmas Story with Tobe Hooper’s Texas Chainsaw Massacre. It’ll chill you to the bone — that is, if Santa here doesn’t first.

Unwrap all the goodness below. If you like what you hear/see, Silver & Gold is now available in digital and CD formats through Bandcamp. The vinyl version is sold-out.

Silver & Gold: Songs for Christmas, Vols. 6-10 Tracklist:
01. Silent Night
02. Lumberjack Christmas / No One Can Save You From Christmases Past
03. Coventry Carol
04. The Midnight Clear
05. Carol of St. Benjamin The Bearded One
06. Go Nightly Cares
07. Barcarola (You Must Be A Christmas Tree)
08. Auld Lang Syne
09. Christ the Lord is Born
10. Christmas Woman
11. Break Forth O Beauteous Heavenly Light
12. Happy Family Christmas
13. Jingle Bells
14. Mysteries of the Christmas Mist
15. Lift Up Your Heads Ye Mighty Gates
16. We Wish You A Merry Christmas
17. Ah Holy Jesus
18. Behold the Birth of Man, the Face of Glory
19. Ding-a-ling-a-ring-a-ling
20. How Shall I Fitly Meet Thee?
21. Mr. Frosty Man (free)
22. Make Haste To See the Baby
23. Ah Holy Jesus (with reed organ)
24. Hark! The Herald Angels Sing
25. Morning (Sacred Harp)
26. Idumea (Sacred Harp)
27. Eternal Happiness Or Woe
28. Ah Holy Jesus (a capella)
29. I Am Santa’s Helper
30. Maoz Tzur (Rock of Ages)
31. Even the Earth Will Perish and the Universe Give Way
32. Angels We Have Heard On High
33. Do You Hear What I Hear?
34. Christmas In The Room
35. It Came Upon A Midnight Clear
36. Good King Wenceslas
37. Alphabet
38. Particle Physics
39. Joy To The World
40. The Child With The Star On His Head
41. I’ll Be Home For Christmas
42. Santa Claus Is Coming To Town
43. The Sleigh In The Moon
44. Sleigh Ride
45. Ave Maria (featuring Cat Martino)
46. X-mas Spirit Catcher
47. Let It Snow! Let It Snow! Let It Snow!
48. Holly Jolly Christmas
49. Christmas Face
50. Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas
51. It Came Upon A Midnight Clear
52. Up On The Housetop
53. Angels We Have Heard On High
54. We Need A Little Christmas
55. Happy Karma Christmas
56. We Three Kings
57. Justice Delivers Its Death
58. Christmas Unicorn

No comments