Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Members of Sunn O))) and Boris reunite as Ensemble Pearl

on December 19, 2012, 3:08pm

ensemblepearlmain Members of Sunn O))) and Boris reunite as Ensemble Pearl

In 2006, members of drone-metal outfit Sunn O))) and Japanese psych-rock band Boris joined forces to form Ensemble Pearl, unleashing the ultra-dissonant Altar. On March 19th, the noisy super group will release its self-titled follow-up via Drag City.

The band, led by Sunn O)))’s Stephen O’Malley and featuring Boris drummer Atsuo and Ghost/Boris members Michio Kurihara and William Herzog, were joined by experimental composer Eyvind Kang and Secret Chiefs 3’s Timba Harris for the six-song effort. O’Malley described the album’s output as “Cosmic heavy rock sounds in an area between Link Wrey, Earth “Hex”, and early Tangerine Dream. Inspired by ’50s-’70s rock and contemporary music productions.”

Check out the full tracklist below (the final three cuts each clock in around 10-20 minutes!), followed by a stream of the Altar track “Akuma No Kuma”.

Ensemble Pearl Tracklist:
01. Ghost Parade
02. Painting on a Corpse
03. Wray
04. Island Epiphany
05. Giant
06. Sexy Angle