New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

New Music: Yo La Tengo – “Ohm”

on December 20, 2012, 5:05pm

yo la tengo fade New Music: Yo La Tengo   Ohm

Yo La Tengo got extra creative for the premiere of the third track from their upcoming album Fade, due out January 15th via Matador Records. As Matablog explains, the band recently streamed “Ohm” using ”some wild geo-targeting magic at the giant tree in [Portland’s] Overlook Park,” aka the tree featured in the artwork of Fade. If you couldn’t be there in person, the band has since made the track available to stream on YouTube, accompanied by a time-lapsed video of said tree. Check it out below.

Yo La Tengo’s Ira Kaplan said of this unique endeavor, “I am reminded of the oddball great Beach Boys song ‘A Day in the Life of a Tree’ from Surf’s Up and sung on that record by their manager at the time Jack Rieley (adequate vocalists obviously being hard to come by in the Beach Boys proper), covered once and only once by YLT–Sept. 17, 1998, at Maxwell’s.”

For further tastes of Fade, take a listen to “Stupid Things” and “Before We Run”.

Fade Tracklist:
01. Ohm
02. Is That Enough
03. Well You Better
04. Paddle Forward
05. Stupid Things
06. I’ll Be Around
07. Cornelia and Jane
08. Two Trains
09. The Point of It
10. Before We Run

No comments