The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music and Film Headlines

Purling Hiss announce new album, Water On Mars

on December 13, 2012, 12:45pm

purlinghiss wateronmars mini e1355345876243 Purling Hiss announce new album, Water On Mars

For years, Purling Hiss‘ Mike Polizze has been an insular music-making machine, penning aggressive and wily rock songs and packaging them using his own home-recording setup. But after three albums and an EP, he’s finally decided to step outside the confines of his bedroom, even bouncing songwriting ideas with a band. The result? The new Purling Hiss album, Water On Mars, due out March 19th via Drag City.

According to a press release, the a nine-track collection has a certain newfound polish and level of organization to it, citing gleaming and precise guitars that “work alongside of the rhythm section rather than avalanching it.” But Purling Hiss still hold onto their roots, too; the LP is packed with the “usual patches of distortion, singing melodies and unexpected production hoohah.”

Water On Mars Tracklist:
01. Lolita
02. Mercury Retrograde
03. Rat Race
04. Dead Again
05. She Calms Me Down
06. Face Down
07. The Harrowing Wind
08. Water On Mars
09. Mary Bumblebee

No comments