New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

The Cave Singers announce new album, Naomi

on December 04, 2012, 3:36pm

cavesingersnaomi 1024x1024 The Cave Singers announce new album, Naomi

True story: Seattle indie-folk collective The Cave Singers have roots in the scene’s more well-known punk/hardcore acts. Frontman Peter Quirk was originally in Hint Hint; guitarist Derek Fudesco split time between Pretty Girls Make Graves and The Murder City Devils; drummer Marty Lund called Cobra High home; and recently-added multi-instrumentalist Morgan Henderson was in the Blood Brothers (and the less hardcore Fleet Foxes to boot). While their sound leans more toward the rural end of the spectrum these days, the band utilized their respective roots on their fourth full-length album, Naomi, due out March 5th, 2013 via Jagjaguwar.

The follow-up to last year’s No Witch, the 12-song effort was produced and engineered at Avast Studios in Seattle by Phil Ek (Fleet Foxes, Built To Spill, Shins, Modest Mouse). Conceptually, the album focuses on “love and suffering, surrender and redemption: the messy stuff of life,” while touching upon everyday topics like “addiction, car ownership, fireworks, tree houses, moving to New Mexico, and God, each shifting in all the ways that make life difficult and miraculous, astounding and beautiful,” as the press release indicates.

Regardless of the topics, though, each track is part of a cohesive piece that finds the band emphasizing more of their Northwest punk-rock heritage to expand their rustic sound without forgoing its quaint beauty. “In Quirk’s rough-hewn wail, the minor-key abrupt endings, the polyrhythmic constructions, all these known quantities (are) used to build a gorgeous, flowering new sound.”

The first track from the album, “Have to Pretend”, is an interesting blend of the band’s folky core and their newfound interest in life’s never-ending emotional barrage. Though the lyrics perpetuate a message of cynicism and angst (“See, man, the hopeless have to pretend”), the harmonies and punctuating drums offset the negativity just enough to make this danceable. Stream it below.

Naomi Tracklist:
01. Canopy
02. Have to Pretend
03. No Tomorrows
04. It’s A Crime
05. Week to Week
06. Evergreens
07. Shine
08. Karen’s Car
09. Easy Way
10. Northern Lights
11. Early Moon
12. When the World

No comments