Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

New Music: Mister Lies feat. Exitmusic – “Hounded”

on January 23, 2013, 12:13pm

misterliescover New Music: Mister Lies feat. Exitmusic   Hounded

Last year, Chicago bedroom producer Nick Zanca, aka Mister Lies, released his Hidden Neighbors EP, an effort recorded alone in his Columbia College dorm room during the winter of 2012. Not quite done with cold weather, the 20-year-old Zanca recently spent time at a lakeside cabin in Vermont (sounds familiar) recording his debut album, Mowgli.

According to a press release, the eight-track LP is very much a direct result of Zanca’s seclusion, time spent “aggressively hunting for self-awareness and feral youth.” That journey reaches an especially emotional climax in”Hounded” featuring NYC duo Exitmusic. While Zanca’s production is glitchy and unpredictable, alternating between sparse drums and piano loops and flourishes of effects, Exitmusic’s Aleksa Palladino instills the sense of isolation by wailing lines like “What you crave/a voice from silence”.

Mowgli hits stores on February 26th via Lefse. If you missed them, check out “Align” and the violent video for “Dionysian”.

Mowgli Tracklist:
01. Ashore
02. Dionysian
03. Align
04. Lupine
05. Canaan
06. Ludlow
07. Hounded (feat. Exitmusic)
08. Trustfalls

No comments