New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Underworld’s Karl Hyde announces solo debut album, Edgeland

on January 24, 2013, 4:40pm

 Underworlds Karl Hyde announces solo debut album, Edgeland

Karl Hyde, one half of the prolific English electronic duo Underworld, will release his debut solo album on April 22nd via Universal Records. Titled Edgeland, the nine-track effort was co-produced by Leo Abrahams, whose past credentials include time spent as a touring member for Pulp and session guitarist for Brian Eno.

In a press release, Hyde described the themes behind his solo debut: “The beauty of decay, tyre marks, crude graffiti, industrial noise, overheard conversations, epidemics of coffee bars and nights on the back seat being driven through cities by drivers who never sleep. A celebration of people’s idiosyncrasies, mapping out my journeys with the stories they tell, edgelands where city meets scrub, where ragged ponies grazed annexed fields and the air smells chemical.”

Hyde is also previewing Edgeland with the track titled “Cut Clouds”. A steady, atmospheric track full of longing and heartache, it’s reminiscent of the soundtracking work Underworld did for the 2012 Olympic Summer Games’ Opening Ceremony. Stream it below.

Edgeland Tracklist
01. The Night Slips us Smiling Underneath it’s Dress
02. Your Perfume Was The Best Thing
03. Angel Café
04. Cut Clouds
05. The Boy with the Jigsaw Puzzle Fingers
06. Slummin’ It For The Weekend
07. Shoulda Been A Painter
08. Shadow Boy
09. Sleepless

No comments