New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Listen to Little Boots’ new single, “Motorway”, from her forthcoming album Nocturnes

on February 25, 2013, 9:50am

little boots nocturnes e1361802285617 Listen to Little Boots new single, Motorway, from her forthcoming album Nocturnes

Little Boots’ Victoria Hesketh has never been your prototypical pop star. In subsequent tours behind her dazzling 2009 debut, Hands, Hesketh generated her own beats on-stage using an Etch A Sketch-looking instrument called a Tenori-on. She also took almost three years to follow up Hands, collaborating with Simian Mobile Disco’s James Ford and Andy Butler of Hercules and Love Affair, and creating her very own record label for the album’s release.

The sound of the album’s lead single, “Motorway”, is also an unexpected surprise. The techno dance anthems of Hands have been replaced by a synthy production that’s more akin to the style of Hot Chip. The murky number is driven by piano and looped electronics, and comes accompanied by a video that could just as easily be one for Crystal Castles’ latest single.

Hesketh explains of her new direction (via SPIN): “Much of the ‘dance music’ we’ve been bombarded with of late leaves me cold, and recently it feels like Proper Songs have somehow gone out of fashion. So a big part of what I wanted to do on this record is show that you can produce dance-pop that’s both interesting and artistic, but maintains the magic of classic pop songwriting.”

We’ll hear what else Hesketh has in store when her sophomore album, Nocturnes, hits stores May 6th via On Repeat.

Nocturnes Tracklist:
01. Motorway
02. Confusion
03. Broken Record
04. Shake
05. Beat Beat
06. Every Night I Say A Prayer
07. Crescendo
08. Strangers
09. All For You
10. Satellite

No comments