New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Listen to Mad Season’s unreleased song, “Locomotive”

on February 18, 2013, 4:25pm

mad season deluxe1 e1356037405836 Listen to Mad Seasons unreleased song, Locomotive

The forthcoming deluxe reissue of Mad Season’s lone studio album, 1994’s Above, includes unreleased tracks from the group’s unfinished second album. Among this material is “Locomotive”, which was completed last year when surviving members Mike McCready and Barrett Martin hit the studio alongside Mark Lanegan, who wrote new lyrics and contributed vocals. You can listen to the end product at Rolling Stone.

As Martin told Rolling Stone,”Locomotive is a song that best represents the direction Mad Season was going for our second, unfinished album. Mark Lanegan’s lyrics and powerful voice captures that time perfectly.”

Due out April 2nd, the three-disc reissue also includes a full concert film of the band’s final show ever at Seattle’s Moore Theatre (pre-orders are ongoing). A special double vinyl version will be available for Record Store Day (April 20th).

Above – Deluxe Edition Tracklist:
01. Wake Up
02. X-Ray Mind
03. River of Deceit
04. I’m Above
05. Artificial Red
06. Lifeless Dead
07. I Don’t Know Anything
08. Long Gone Day
09. November Hotel
10. All Alone
11. Interlude (previously unreleased)
12. Locomotive (lyrics/vocals by Mark Lanegan)
13. Black Book Of Fear (lyrics/vocals by Mark Lanegan)
14. Slip Away (lyrics/vocals by Mark Lanegan)
15. I Don’t Wanna Be A Soldier (remix)

1 comment