New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

The Flaming Lips hide USB containing Songs of Love in chocolate hearts

on February 05, 2013, 12:00pm

 The Flaming Lips hide USB containing Songs of Love in chocolate hearts

If you thought The Flaming Lips releasing an actual album meant their days of placing USB drives within edible anatomy were behind them, you don’t know Wayne Coyne. Adding to their catalog of gummy brains, fetuses, and vaginas (“Phrases you only write when reporting on The Flaming Lips” for $500, Alex), Coyne and co. have teamed with Dude, Sweet Chocolate to create some anatomically accurate chocolate hearts.

Tucked inside the confectionery cardiac organ is a USB stick with a 15-song mix appropriately titled, Songs of Love, as Pitchfork reports. Frequent collaborators Stardeath and White Dwarfs as well as Alex and Jade from Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros guest on the first and final songs, respectively, and you can stream both below (via The Future Heart). The Alex and Jade track is a reworking of The Beatles’ “All You Need Is Love”.

Of course, a band who would make marijuana-flavored brains wouldn’t just use any old chocolate. For this particular endeavor, The Lips utilized “72% South American dark chocolate studded with hazelnut mini whoppers and waffle cone crunch.” Aurally and orally delicious. See Coyne take a bite out of one of these hearts above, and consult the Songs of Love tracklist below. As far as we know, The Terror should be released in standard form on April 1st. But then again, this is Coyne we’re talking about.

“Love is Mind Control” (feat. Stardeath and White Dwarfs):

“All You Need Is Love” (feat. Alex and Jade of Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros):

Songs of Love Tracklist:
01. Love is Mind Control (feat. Stardeath and White Dwarfs)
02. Be My Head
03. Can’t Exist
04. Hit Me Like You Did the First Time
05. Let Me Be It
06. Moth in the Incubator
07. Sunship Balloons
08. Thanks to You
09. Spiderbite Song
10. When You Smile
11. With You
12. Pomeii am Gotterdammerung
13. What Is the Light?
14. Just Above Love
15. All You Need Is Love (feat. Alex and Jade of Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros)


No comments