Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

The Pastels to release first album in 16 years, Slow Summits

on February 20, 2013, 11:00am

8488833611 a74e636433 e1361308476577 The Pastels to release first album in 16 years, Slow Summits

As we reported late last year, seasoned retro-pop group The Pastels have regrouped for their first album in nearly two decades. The new LP, titled Slow Summits, is now scheduled to drop on May 28th via Domino Records. According to a press release, it’s a culmination of the music they’ve dabbled in since their last proper studio release, 1997’s Illumination.

While they haven’t put out a full-length in 16 years, The Pastels have kept busy with other projects, such as their 2003 film soundtrack for The Last Great Wilderness and their collaboration on the Tenniscoats’ 2009 album Two Sunsets.

The press release goes on to say that Slow Summits “gathers on all these works but moves off in newer and older ways too with its flowing montage of autumn instrumentals, pop songs, slow motion build ups and suddenly optimistic melody lines.”

The nine-track album was recorded in their hometown of Glasgow by John McEntire and Bal Cooke, and features appearances by members of To Rococo Rot, Tenniscoats, and Scottish composer Craig Armstrong. Two former members of The Pastels, Annabel Wright and Norman Blake, also contribute.

Watch the album trailer trailer below.

Slow Summits Tracklist:
01. Secret Music
02. Night Time Made Us
03. Check My Heart
04. Summer Rain
05. After Image
06. Kicking Leaves
07. Wrong Light
08. Slow Summits
09. Come to the Dance