New Music Releases
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Laura Marling announces new album, Once I Was An Eagle, stream “Where Can I Go?”

on March 08, 2013, 4:24pm


UK singer-songwriter Laura Marling will return with a new studio album, Once I Was An Eagle, on May 28th via Ribbon Music. It’s her third album in four years, following 2010’s Top Star-earning I Speak Because I Can and 2011’s A Creature I Don’t Know.

The 16-track effort was recorded at the UK’s Three Crows studio, produced by Ethan Johns (Kings of Leon, Ryan Adams), and features her lifelong pal Ruth de Turberville on cello. Marling recorded vocals and acoustic guitars live in one take (!) and the entire studio process lasted just 10 days.

A press release says the album “echoes the dark themes” of A Creature I Don’t Know. Catch a preview with a listen of “Where Can I Go?” below.

Once I Was an Eagle Tracklist:
01. Take The Night Off
02. I Was An Eagle
03. You Know
04. Breathe
05. Master Hunter
06. Little Love Caster
07. Devil’s Resting Place
08. Interlude
09. Undine
10. Where Can I Go?
11. Once
12. Pray For Me
13. When Were You Happy? (And How Long Has That Been)
14. Love Be Brave
15. Little Bird
16. Saved These Words