New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Madlib to release rarities compilation from Quasimoto alter ego

on April 24, 2013, 12:00pm

quasimtomadlibcover Madlib to release rarities compilation from Quasimoto alter ego

Along with the massive catalog under his primary pseudonym, rapper-producer Otis Jackson Jr. (AKA the iconic Madlib) has intermittently recorded as Quasimoto. In June, he’ll return to that high-pitched alter ego for the first time in eight years with the release of a career-spanning compilation titled Yessir Whatever.

The collection features 12 rare, out-of-print, and previously unreleased tracks, plus a bonus 45 featuring “Hittin Hooks” and “Microphone Mathematics Remix”. Among the cuts dug up from the archives is “Planned Attack”, a slice of pure and simple old-school rap intensity composed of wicked scratching, a warped jazz sample, and straight-to-your-dome rhymes (“Making the rap game look pitiful/If it was up to me we’ get rid of y’all/Put a lid on y’all fake ass n***as contradicting”). Listen in below.

Yessir Whatever is due out June 18th via Stones Throw Records. Below, check out the tracklist and album artwork, specifically the peel-back cover revealing “Quasimoto’s guts”.

Yessir Whatever Tracklist:
01. Broad Factor
02. Seasons Change
03. The Front
04. Youngblood
05. Astronaut
06. Planned Attack
07. Brothers Can’t See Me
08. Catchin’ the Vibe
09. Am I Confused?
10. Sparkdala
11. Green Power
12. LAX to JFK

quasimotopeelcover Madlib to release rarities compilation from Quasimoto alter ego


No comments