Exclusive Premieres
The Hottest Songs, Music Videos, Posters and Trailers
That You Heard and Saw Here First

Listen to Deap Vally’s “(She’s A) Wanderer”, their contribution to True Blood soundtrack

on May 23, 2013, 10:51am

true blood 4

Okay, so HBO’s True Blood may have lost me when Sookie was revealed to be half-fairy, but goddamn if the show’s soundtracks don’t continue to impress. Music Supervisor Gary Calamar has a supernatural knack for pulling together killer musicians for one bloody good collection of songs, and the fourth such release packs as much bite as ever (and I’m done).

Over 14 tracks, there are unlikely bedfellows (Iggy Pop and Best Coast’s Bethany Costentino), ungodly covers (Jenny Lewis and The Animals’ Eric Burdon’s “Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood”), and rising up-and-comers (CoSigned duo Deap Vally).

On Deap Vally’s “(She’s A) Wanderer”, Julie Edwards lays down a sturdy strut of a beat while Lindsey Troy comes hard with deep stomps of reverb-dipped guitars. There’s some sweetness in the background vocals, but there’s this murky underbelly, making the cut and the show a fitting pair. Check it out below.

True Blood: Music from the HBO Original Series Volume 4 is due May 28th via ATO Records. Consult the complete tracklisting below.

True Blood: Music from the HBO Original Series Volume 4 Tracklist:
01. Eric Burdon and Jenny Lewis – “Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood”
02. Iggy Pop and Bethany Costentino – “Let’s Boot and Rally”
03. The Heavy – “What Makes a Good Man?”
04. Holwin’ Wolf – “Smokestack Lightnin'”
05. Alabama Shakes – “Pocket Change”
06. Bosco Delrey – “Authority Song”
07. My Morning Jacket – “Turn Turn Turn”
08. The Flaming Lips – “Your Face Can Tell the Future”
09. The Naked and Famous – “The Sun”
10. Warpaint – “Undertow”
11. Mobley – “I Wanna Be Your Man”
12. Deap Vally – “(She’s A) Wanderer”
13. Koko Taylor – “Whatever I Am, You Made Me”
14. Los Lobos – “We’ll Meet Again”

No comments