New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Listen to Majical Cloudz’s flourishing new single, “Bugs Don’t Buzz”

on May 02, 2013, 1:20pm


Digi-pop balladeer Devon Welsh (aka Majical Cloudz) pulled out some old stand-bys for his Matador Records debut, Impersonator. There’s the title track from last year’s Turns Turns Turns EP, and now a little ditty called “Bugs Don’t Buzz”, which Welsh has had in his pocket since he was 19. While it’s slightly older than the album’s lead single “Childhood’s End”, it too relies on Welsh’s spirited vocals and minimalist instrumentation. But this latest cut sees Welsh’s voice shift away from forlorn to something more joyous, sounding bright and hopeful over a looped piano. Download it below.

Majical Cloudz – “Bugs Don’t Buzz”

In a post on his Tumblr, Welsh described the emotional journey of finally releasing the track:

I’ve been so sad and this song has been around, and I’ve been so happy and this song has been around. It’s accumulated layers of memories because it’s been around for a long time. Releasing it feels very intimate for some reason., I wrote a version of it on piano in 2008 when I was nineteen but then forgot about it until my friend found it on my computer a few years later., When I first wrote it the lyrics didn’t mean that much to me, they just kind of came out. I didn’t consider it anything special — at the time I was trying to write as many songs as possible, filling hard drives with recordings just for practice. Then for a long while after that I lost confidence in my ability to write songs, and during this time my friend used “Bugs Don’t Buzz” as an example of why I had made beautiful things and shouldn’t be so hard on myself. As is so often the case when someone is trying to help you, I didn’t really listen as much as I could have!, Before Matt and I played our first show, I realized I could sing the song over a piano loop, so we played it live and it felt really good. So this is the recorded version of the song. It’s a special song to me because of everything I just explained. It feels like the act of playing it is in some small way an attempt to repay the friend who encouraged me to have confidence.

Impersonator is due out May 27th via Matador Records.

Impersonator Tracklist:
01. Impersonator
02. This Is Magic
03. Childhood’s End
04. I Do Sing For You
05. Mister
06. Turns Turns Turns
07. Silver Rings
08. Illusion
09. Bugs Don’t Buzz
10. Notebook

No comments