Exclusive Premieres
The Hottest Songs, Music Videos, Posters and Trailers
That You Heard and Saw Here First

Listen to Ra Ra Riot and The Darcys cover Constantines’ “Time Can Be Overcome”

on May 24, 2013, 11:00am

arts and crafts x

Canada’s beloved indie label Arts & Crafts is celebrating 10 glorious years with a special compilation record, X. The collection brings together bands from the label’s roster for original compositions, like the just-released Broken Social Scene/Years collaboration “Day of the Kid”, plus covers of songs from Arts & Crafts’ past.

In the latter category, Ra Ra Riot and The Darcys team up to tackle “Time Can Be Overcome” by Constantines. Taken from the band’s one A&C release (incidentally their last before taking a break), Kensington Heights, the original is a sparse alt-country leaning ditty with scratchy, gruff vocals. The cover flips the script a bit, flushing out the sound with Riot-ous strings and quickening drums, while the vocals are delivered in steadier, smoother breaths. Listen in below.

Arts & Crafts: X will be available May 28th on LP, CD, and digital formats.

Arts & Crafts: X Tracklist:
01. Broken Social Scene x Years – “Day of the Kid”
02. Apostle of Hustle x Zeus – “Bizarre Love Triangle”
03. Feist x Timber Timbre – “Homage”
04. Still Life Still x Zulu Winter – “Era”
05. The Hidden Cameras x Snowblink – “The Chauffer”
06. The Darcys x Ra Ra Riot – “Time Can Be Overcome”
07. Chilly Gonzales x Stars – “Nothing Good Comes to Those Who Wait”
08. Hayden x Jason Collet – “Lonely is as Lonely Does”
09. Gold & Youth x Trust – “Lady Bird”
10. Amy Millan x Dan Mangan – “Chances Are”

No comments