New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Listen to “Walk On By”, new song from Hot Chip offshoot About Group

on May 30, 2013, 2:11pm

aboutgroup1 Listen to Walk On By, new song from Hot Chip offshoot About Group

About Group, the collaborative project of Alexis Taylor (Hot Chip), Charles Hayward (This Heat), John Coxon (Spring Heel Jack, Spiritualized), and Pat Thomas, have reunited to release their third album, Between the Walls, due out July 2nd via Domino.

According to a press release, the 12-track album is “the sound of buzzing amplifiers, sudden musical non-sequiturs, loud blasts of straight synth lines cutting through melody and structure. And it is also the sound of beautiful and odd electronic textures and brilliantly defined and deliberate drums, underpinning fragile but deliberate performances of sad songs and country ballads.”

Adds Taylor, “The balance between songwriting and free playing, and a lack of clarity about which mode we will be in for any given amount of time, is the key to About Group.”

As a first listen, the band have unveiled “Walk On By”. With its grand and slow-building blend of funk grooves, sweltering arena-rock guitars, random blips of effects, and Deep Purple-esque organs, it’s a prime example of the group’s self-described “anything goes” sound. Download it below.

Between the Walls Tracklist:
01. After Video
02. Walk On By
03. All Is Not Lost
04. Words
05. Graph Paper
06. Make The World Laugh
07. Love Because
08. Nightlife/Sinking
09. Untitled
10. I Never Lock That Door
11. Yes
12. If You Can’t Love Me

No comments