The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music and Film Headlines

David Lynch covers Bob Dylan, collaborates with Lykke Li on new album The Big Dream

on June 03, 2013, 1:15pm

davidlynch David Lynch covers Bob Dylan, collaborates with Lykke Li on new album The Big Dream

Obscure genius and legendary filmmaker David Lynch returns with his sophomore solo effort, The Big Dream, on July 15th via Sunday Best (Europe) and July 16th via Sacred Bones (U.S.). The follow-up to his 2011 debut, Crazy Clown Time, comes stocked with 11 original compositions, a Bob Dylan cover, and a bonus track featuring Lykke Li.

“Most of the songs start out as a type of blues jam and then we go sideways from there,” Lynch writes in a press release. “What comes out is a hybrid, modernized form of low-down blues.”

The album’s vinyl release includes an exclusive 7″ that features the Lykke Li track, “I’m Waiting Here”, as an A-side and a hand-inscription by Lynch for the B-side.

Currently, Spotify is streaming the track, which finds Li resembling Twin Peaks lounge singer Julee Cruise, despite Lynch’s insistence that the singer ”brought her own style to this song.” Decide for yourself below.

The Big Dream Tracklist:
01. The Big Dream
02. Star Dream Girl
03. Last Call
04. Cold Wind Blowin
05. The Ballad of Hollis Brown (Bob Dylan cover)
06. Wishin’ Well
07. Say It
08. We Rolled Together
09. Sun Can’t Be Seen No More
10. I Want You
11. The Line It Curves
12. Are You Sure
13. I’m Waiting Here (feat. Lykke Li) (bonus track)

No comments