New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Listen to Pop. 1280’s grimy new single, “Lights Out”

on June 14, 2013, 2:25pm

sbr104 pop1280 impsofperversion 1440 1024x1024 Listen to Pop. 1280s grimy new single, Lights Out

New York noise-rock outfit Pop. 1280 will release their sophomore album, Imps of Perversion, on August 6th via Sacred Bones Records. The follow-up to last year’s The Horror was produced by Martin Bisi (Sonic Youth, Cop Shoot Cop, Swans) at NYC’s BC Studio.

According to a press release, the 10-track effort is “their most cohesive and powerful statement to date. Woven together with stories of lust, sexual confusion, temptation, and debauchery, Imps forms a tight web of manic synth-punk, bad-trip acid jams and bludgeoning industrial beats. This is the sound of a band having fun and pushing the limits of their brand of industrial-punk with tighter songwriting and more dynamic musicianship.”

Lead single “Lights Out” is definitely an example of those “bad-trip acid jams.” If Phish had done one too many tablets and started writing punk songs in the vain of Lou Reed, they might arrive at something close to this jagged number. But even as they sing of wet dreams to the sound of strained guitars and uneven drums, there’s a sense of cohesion and plotting to the grimy chaos. Listen in below.

Imps of Perversion Tracklist:
01. Lights Out
02. The Control Freak
03. Population Control
04. Nailhouse
05. Human Probe II
06. Do the Anglerfish
07. Dawn of Man
08. Coma Baby
09. Human Probe
10. Riding Shotgun

No comments