New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Listen to Porcelain Raft’s weepy new single, “Think of the Ocean”

on June 19, 2013, 1:25pm


Dream pop conductor Mauro Remiddi, a.k.a. Porcelain Raft, will drop his sophomore album, Permanent Signal, on August 20th via Secretly Canadian. While he’s previously teased us with an album trailer, we now have the first official single with the weepy decadence of “Think of the Ocean”.

As expected, it’s a staggering block of depression, though this time around, Remiddi’s work feels extracted from a post-modern foreign film, thanks to the stirring strings and the droning tones. As the songwriter writes in a press release, “there’s nothing hidden in what we see, sometimes you just have to let it in.” Follow his lead by watching the song’s accompanying visuals now.

It should be noted that Remiddi received suport from Yuck drummer Jonny Rogoff, Antlers bassist Darby Cicci, and cellist Gaspar Claus. In fact, Cicco contributed double vocals, trumpet, and even engineered the sessions in Remiddi’s Brooklyn studio. Consult the full tracklist below.

Permanent Signal Tracklist:
01. Think Of The Ocean
02. Cluster
03. Minor Pleasure
04. Open Letter
05. Night Birds
06. It Ain’t Over
07. I Lost Connection
08. Warehouse
09.The Way Out
10. Five Minutes From Now
11. Echo

No comments