The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music and Film Headlines

Put your baby to sleep with lullabies from Jay-Z

on June 04, 2013, 5:15pm

130604 jay z Put your baby to sleep with lullabies from Jay Z

 Akin to Kidz Bop and other kid-centric compilations of  the ’90s, the folks at Rockabye Baby have spent the last few years converting your favorite artist’s back catalogs into lullabies for little ones named Braiden or Ashleigh. With collections already dedicated to U2, Kanye West, Coldplay (makes sense; Mylo Xyloto almost put me to sleep), and Prince (how?!), their latest release features naptime tunes from none other than Jay-Z. You crazy for this one, baby!

Rockabye Baby! Lullaby Renditions of Jay-Z comprises 12 tracks from across Jigga’s storied discography, including “Empire State of Mind”, “Big Pimpin'”, “’03 Bonnie & Clyde”, the apropos “Young Forever”, and the always soothing “Hard Knock Life (Ghetto Anthem)”. And if this weren’t already the gift that keeps on giving, each CD comes with Jay-Z-themed kids’ games for liner notes and a recipe for “Big Pumpkin” baby food (it’s just squashed pumpkins and D’ussé).

Rockabye Baby reinterprets the rapper’s Grammy-winning work with xylophone, bells and flute,” according to a press release. “Jay-Z’s heavily rhythmic style and mastery of flow translate effortlessly to the soothing bedtime arrangements.” And if you’re baby’s first words are, “Just because you got good head, I’ma break bread”, well, then that’s just an added bonus!

Rockabye Baby! Lullaby Renditions of Jay-Z will be available July 9th. For a preview, head over to the Rockabye Baby! website.

Rockabye Baby! Lullaby Renditions of Jay-Z Tracklist:
01. “Empire State of Mind”
02. “Hard Knock Life (Ghetto Anthem)”
03. “Izzo (H.O.V.A.)”
04. “Big Pimpin'”
05. “’03 Bonnie & Clyde”
06. “I Just Wanna Love U (Give It 2 Me)”
07. “Girls, Girls, Girls”
08. “Show Me What You Got”
09. “Can’t Knock the Hustle”
10. “Heart of the City (Ain’t No Love)”
11. “Run This Town”
12. “Young Forever”

No comments