New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Listen to Summer Camp’s new, disco-inspired single, “Fresh”

on July 17, 2013, 11:27am


When London pop duo Summer Camp released their 2011 debut, Welcome to Condale, they burst on to the scene (and in to some folk’s hearts) with an earnest blend of summer-ready ballads about crushes and having fun. With last year’s Always EP, the CoSigned pair underwent a transitional period, experimenting with cleaner, more rigid beats and lyrics surrounding the inevitable emotional fallout of young love. In September, they’ll share the next phase of their musical journey with the release of their self-titled sophomore LP via Moshi Moshi.

For an early indication of where they’re headed, the duo has unveiled the album’s lead single, “Fresh”. Already known for their nostalgic leanings, the pair looks toward disco for inspiration, crafting a breezy dance tune of sultry guitar and sweeping strings like a pop-rock Donna Summers. And keeping with the retro vibe, singer Elizabeth Sankey, whose vocals are especially effervescent and focused, recounts the glory of all first loves with equal parts longing and detachment (“No heartbreak has ever been as good/I’d rather be hurt by you instead”).

Watch the song’s accompanying lyric video below.

Summer Camp Tracklist:
01. The End
02. Fresh
03. Crazy
04. Keep Falling
05. Two Chords
06. Fighters
07. I Got You
08. Everything Has Changed
09. Phone Call
10. Night Drive
11. Pink Summer
12. Over It (Bonus Track)

No comments