The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music and Film Headlines

RJD2 announces new album, More Is Than Isn’t

on July 09, 2013, 1:49pm

rjd2newcover RJD2 announces new album, More Is Than Isnt

Influential electronic producer RJD2 last released an album back in 2010 with The Colossus. Since then, he’s kept busy with an assortment of projects, including the odd remix, collaborating with vocalist Aaron Livingston as Icebird, and steady releases through his own RJ’s Electrical Connections imprint. On October 8th, he’ll return with his fifth studio album, More Is Than Isn’t.

The album features contributions from an array of vocalists and rappers, including Livingston, Phonte Coleman (Little Brother, Foreign Exchange), Khari Mateen, Blueprint, P. Blackk, and STS. However, even with these numerous collaborations, RJD2 said the album especially emphasizes instrumentals.

“In ways, all of my previous albums were in some fashion striving to achieve something more than being just instrumental music,” he said in a press release. “This is the first RJD2 album I’ve made that actually revels in a relative lack of vocals.”

Keeping with those sentiments, the album is conceptually “tied together by three instrumental pieces that are different explorations of the same harmonic theme. It captures a dynamic range not seen before on an RJD2 album, ranging from subdued jazz-tinged pieces to bombastic club music, and a lot of funk in between.”

The release adds, “The ethereal, beat-driven vibes of his debut album also make appearances now and again, with textural usage of gritty drum breaks, lush analog synths and his ever-distinctive use of the MPC sampler. This record truly is a culmination of years of experience as both a producer and composer, bringing to fruition a record that stands on its own within the landscape of electronic and hip-hop music today.”

More Is Than Isn’t Tracklist:
01. Suite 1
02. Temperamental (feat. Phonte Coleman)
03. Behold, Numbers!
04. Her Majesty’s Socialist Request
05. A Lot of Night Ahead of You
06. Bathwater (feat. P. Blackk)
07. Milk Tooth
08. Suite 2
09. Winter Isn’t Coming
10. See You Leave (feat. STS and Khari Mateen)
11. Got There, Sugar?
12. Love and Go (feat. Aaron Livingston)
13. Descended From Myth
14. Dirty Hands
15. It All Came To Me In A Dream (feat. Blueprint)
16. Suite 3

No comments