The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music and Film Headlines

Hear Alex Chilton perform by candlelight

on August 15, 2013, 2:29pm

alexchilton Hear Alex Chilton perform by candlelight

A rare recording of an Alex Chilton concert dating back to February 13, 1997 is set for release this fall. Titled Electricity By Candlelight, the 18-song set captures the late singer-songwriter’s unique performance at New York’s The Knitting Factory, where a bizarre power outage spawned an hour of acoustic covers and a once-in-a-lifetime event.

In anticipation, four tracks from the album are streaming below, specifically Chilton’s take on ”I Walk The Line” (Johnny Cash), “Motel Blues” (Loudon Wainwright III), “Someone To Watch Over Me” (George Gershwin), and “Wouldn’t It Be Nice” (The Beach Boys).

Electricity By Candlelight hits stores on October 21st via Bar/None. Check out the full tracklist below.

In related news, check out last month’s cover story: an expansive oral history on Big Star.

Electricity By Candlelight Tracklist:
01. Last Bouquet
02. Step Right This Way
03. Let’s Get Lost
04. D-I-V-O-R-C-E
05. Raining In My Heart
06. Lovesick Blues
07. Girl From Ipanema
08. My Baby Just Cares For Me
09. Motel Blues
10. Someone To Watch Over Me
11. Footprints In The Snow
12. Case Of You
13. Wouldn’t It Be Nice
14. Surfer Girl
15. Solar System
16. I Walk The Line
17. If I Had A Hammer
18. You Can Bet Your Heart On Me (Bonus Track)

No comments