Album Streams
Listen to Full Streams of the Newest Albums
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Download Psychic, the new album from Nicolas Jaar’s Darkside

on September 29, 2013, 6:17pm

darside psycover1 Download Psychic, the new album from Nicolas Jaar’s Darkside

Psychic, the new full-length effort from Darkside, the collaboration between producer Nicolas Jaar and Brooklyn multi-instrumentalist Dave Harrington, is now available for download to subscribers of Jaar’s record label, Other People. Download it via Other People’s website; non-subscribers can find a full album stream there.

Jaar and Harrington’s first collaborative release came in the form of their 2011 self-titled EP. Most recently, they reconvened for the brilliant reworking of Daft Punk’s Random Access Memories. Their latest effort was recorded over two years in a number of locations, notably Jaar’s New York apartment, Harrington’s family barn in upstate New York, and a rehearsal space in Paris the duo would stay at in between tours.

Matador Records, which is releasing Psychic in conjunction with Other People, describes the eight-track album as a “watershed moment for the duo. At any given moment, Psychic encompasses the ritualistic structures and methodologies of krautrock, the cosmic exploration of classic space-rock, and the immersive, body-moving transcendence of 21st century house and techno—but, working with the finishing each- others’-sentences fluidity of kindred spirits, Dave and Nico synthesize it all into a living, breathing whole. Darkside are deep listeners and creators.”

The album’s physical release is scheduled for October 8th (pre-orders are ongoing). Below, check out a visualizer for album opener “Golden Arrow”:

Psychic Tracklist:
01. Golden Arrow
02. Sitra
03. Heart
04. Paper Trails
05. The Only Shrine I’ve Seen
06. Freak, Go Home
07. Greek Light
08. Metatron

1 comment