New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Listen to Russian Circles’ new single, “Memorial”, featuring Chelsea Wolfe

on September 13, 2013, 11:35am

russiancirclespromo13 Listen to Russian Circles new single, Memorial, featuring Chelsea Wolfe

In October, Chicago post-rock trio Russian Circles will team with singer-songwriter Chelsea Wolfe for a co-headlining tour of the UK and Europe. Chances are they’ll probably share the stage to perform “Memorial”, a collaboration between the two acts that’s set to appear on Russian Circles’ upcoming LP, Memorial.

“We’ve toured with Chelsea and are all big fans,” Russian Circles bassist Brian Cook told Rolling Stone. “We felt like her work and what we do is stylistically different, but thematically it fits. We’re both more sad and grind-you-into-the-dirt-with-misery. We went through so many permutations of that song, we got into this idea of doing a reprise like one of those albums that starts off and ends at the same spot. Like Pink Floyd’s Animals: open with a stripped down version of the song and end with the full band song.”

With both acts known for their darker, more somber tendencies, the collective layer Wolfe’s wraith-like croon over a slow-moving torrent of mournful piano, echoey drums, and a guitar that almost seems to be wail. Listen in below. Be warned, though: not even the proximity of a glorious weekend can help you escape the track’s all-consuming waves of sorrow.

Memorial is due out October 29th via Sargent House. According to a press release, “the most immediately apparent characteristic (of the LP) is its wide range of emotion. Vacillating from somber-yet-soaring melodies on one track to pummeling metal heft on the next, Memorial sounds like an album with split personalities.” For more sounds, be sure to check out lead single “Deficit”.

Memorial Tracklist:
01. Memoriam
02. Deficit
03. 1777
04. Cheyenne
05. Burial
06. Ethel
07. Lebaron
08. Memorial

No comments