New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Listen to Son Lux’s sax-filled new song, “Easy”

on September 30, 2013, 4:30pm

sonlux3 Listen to Son Luxs sax filled new song, Easy

On October 29th, composer and electronic musician Ryan Lott, a.k.a. Son Lux, will release his third album, Lanterns, via Joyful Noise Recordings. As noted, it will feature appearances by Peter Silberman (of The Antlers), as well as modern classical ensemble and Dirty Projectors collaborators yMusic.

“Lost It To Trying”, our first peek at Lanterns, was a real shapeshifter — uplifting one minute, jolting the next. His latest offering, “Easy”, is not nearly as erratic, but still does its job of hypnotizing and commanding quick attention. By exploring and flipping the textures of seemingly commonplace elements, Lott delivers multi-layered songs filled with fresh air: handclaps feel anxious instead of celebratory, a saxophone trades in grace in exchange for grunting, and so forth. Listen below.

Lanterns Tracklist:
01. Alternate World
02. Lost It To Trying
03. Ransom
04. Easy
05. No Crimes
06. Pyre
07. Enough Of Our Machines
08. Plan The Escape
09. Lanterns Lit

No comments