Album Streams
Listen to Full Streams of the Newest Albums
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Stream Kings of Leon’s new album, Mechanical Bull

on September 16, 2013, 7:54pm

kings of leon mechanical bull Stream Kings of Leons new album, Mechanical Bull

Kings of Leon are streaming their sixth studio album, Mechanical Bull, in full one week ahead of its release date (September 24th via RCA). Take a listen at iTunes.

The follow-up to 2010′s Come Around Sundown was recorded in Nashville with longtime producer Angelo Petraglia. It features 11 tracks, led by the lead single “Supersoaker” and stand-out “Beautiful War”.

Speaking with NME back in March, bassist Jared Followill described the album as a cross between their 2003 debut Youth and Young Manhood and 2007′s breakout Because of the Times, noting, “I thought we were going to make a really mature album but I’m amazed how youthful it sounds.”

Meanwhile, in an interview with Rolling Stone, Nathan Followill described how the band’s writing and recording process has evolved over the years.

“This is our sixth record, so we kinda know. But you notice the little things, like someone tapping their foot or people whistling a melody in the studio all day. You have little signs. But for the most part we had to go back to the drawing board and say, “Do we continue this song or do we stop this one and do something else?” Lucky for us we were all in the same headspace, and taking that break allowed us to fall back in love with what we get to do for a living. We did what we’ve known to do for 12 years, which was pick up our instruments and play.”

“We’d go in every day and play stuff we were into, and it was interesting hearing what people were into. There are a couple songs that could be considered country ballads, even though they’re not country songs. One song has more of a Queens of the Stone Age feel. Another one sounds more like Sly and the Family Stone. It’s all across the board.”

Pre-orders for the album are ongoing. Below, watch the video for “Supersoaker”:

Mechanical Bull Tracklist:
01. Supersoaker
02. Rock City
03. Don’t Matter
04. Beautiful War
05. Temple
06. Wait for Me
07. Family Tree
08. Comeback Story
09. Tonight
10. Coming Back Again
11. On the Chin
12. Work On Me (Bonus Track)
13. Last Mile Home (Bonus Track)

No comments