The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Benefit album for India’s “untouchable” children features a who’s who of indie acts

on October 24, 2013, 3:00pm

boatsindia Benefit album for Indias untouchable children features a whos who of indie acts

Scotland-based art collective Transgressive North has teamed up with the children’s charity Love in Action to launch Everything Is New, an international arts project to help aid and support India’s Dalit (“untouchable”) children. On January 20th, Everything Is New will release two jam-packed benefit albums featuring a who’s who of U.S. and UK indie acts.

The first album is the latest from Scottish indie rockers Marram, entitled Sun Choir, and features contributions from Jarvis Cocker, Owen Pallett, doseone, author Irvine Welsh, and more. The children’s chorus present throughout the album is comprised of kids from Love in Action’s Light of Love Children’s Home in southeast India.

The 29-track, two-disc BOATS offers exclusive new tracks from Deerhoof, No Age, Bear in Heaven, Gang Gang Dance, Dan Deacon, YACHT, Rustie, Califone, Julian Lynch, and many more. Similar to the Sun Choir LP, each tracks samples the Light of Love children’s choir. Below, check out Four Tet’s contribution in the form of the the beguiling “Gillie Amma, I Love You”.

Proceeds from the “Everything Is New” campaign will help provide food, clothing, education, and medical care to children throughout southeast India. Each album includes the 70-minute Everything Is New film, an “inspiring movie about the turning of the earth and the play of children. It tells a mythic story of togetherness, peril and hope.”

Below, check out a video about “Everything Is New” followed by both tracklists:

BOATS Tracklist:

Disc 1:
01. Rustie – Boatsss
02. Max Tundra – You, The Living
03. doseone – Weight in Song
04. White Hinterland – Like a Dove
05. Taken By Trees – In Love This Time
06. Capybara – Angelo
07. Ramona Falls – On the Line
08. Son Lux – My Father’s Children
09. Matthewdavid – Music Will Change the World
10. The Ruby Suns – You Can Talk
11. No Age – Birds Song
12. Deerhoof – Play the Hand
13. Califone – Those Mountains Are God’s Teeth
14. Four Tet – Gillie Amma, I Love You

Disc 2:
01. Dan Deacon – Glace Voices
02. Lucky Dragons – Between Suns
03. High Places – Future’s Just Ahead
04. Keepaway – You’re Silk
05. YACHT – Icarus Complex
06. El Guincho – Botes
07. Sun Airway – Blue City / Sun City
08. rRoxymore – Ask Iru
09. A Sunny Day in Glasgow – Hey Tiger!
10. Bear in Heaven – The Green
11. Slanter – Sarsaparilla
12. Gang Gang Dance – Upside Dawn
13. Julian Lynch – Naava
14. Physical Forms – Sound Lie
15. Marram – Transgressor (feat. Jamie Stewart)

Sun Choir Tracklist:
01. Icarus Hope Choir
02. Amma
03. What If We (feat. Jarvis Cocker)
04. We Fly a Kite (feat. Margaret Bennett)
05. With Us Instead (feat. Owen Pallett)
06. Valuables (Intro)
07. Valuables (feat. doseone and Irvine Welsh)
08 The Butterfly, the Moon (feat. White Hinterland)
09. Seed I (Root, Shoot)
10. Seed II (Flare)
11. Falling From the Sun (feat. Jarvis Cocker and Margaret Bennett)